NIRSA Championship Series

The NIRSA Championship Series gives college recreational sports participants an opportunity to compete, coordinate, officiate, and connect with skilled peers from other schools and take all the benefits of recreational competition to a higher level.

And it’s more than just competition, the NIRSA Championship Series is also a platform for professional development, as up-and-coming professionals build skills and engage in all levels of learning through their programming, staff, official, and volunteer positions. The passion of these leaders drives the exceptional execution of our professionally organized tournaments, which propels the experiences and growth opportunities of participants.

The rich environment of inclusive competition, sportsmanship, and professional development—from participants to fans to volunteers—supports communities of health and wellness, which is what NIRSA is all about.

NIRSA Championship Series Events

NIRSA Regional & National Flag Football Championships

When: Fall 2013, multiple dates
Where: Twelve Regional Championships at The Ohio State University, Springfield College, Texas Tech University, UCLA, UNC-Wilmington, University of Arkansas, University of Florida, University of Maryland, University of Nebraska, University of Notre Dame, University of Southern Mississippi, and Western Kentucky University; National Championships at University of West Florida
Size: 150 teams (1800 athletes) at the Regional Championships; 48 teams (580 athletes) at the National Championship

NIRSA National Soccer Championships

When: November 2013
Where: Phoenix, AZ
Size: 96 teams (2000 athletes)

USTA Tennis on Campus National Championship

When: April 10-12, 2014
Where: Surprise, Arizona
Size: 64 teams (520 athletes)

NIRSA Regional & National Basketball Championships

When: Spring 2014, multiple dates
Where: Ten Regional Championships at Boston University, California State University, Northridge, Eastern Washington University, Oakland University, Purdue University, Texas Christian University, University of Florida, University of Georgia, University of Maryland, and University of Nebraska-Lincoln; National Championships at North Carolina State University
Size: 245 teams (1960 participants) at Regional Championships; 72 teams (580 participants) at National Championships

Additional Information

The NIRSA Championship Series is under the direction of the NIRSA Services Corporation.

For more information

Contact NIRSA Director of National Sport Programs, Valerie McCutchan for more information.